Vanvalkinburgh.org

  • Home
  • Gallery
  • Privacy
  • jQuery
    • Image Example 1
  • Videos
Home > Uncategorized > Some of A Small Orange servers were compromised

Some of A Small Orange servers were compromised

July 9th, 2009 admin

Dear ASO Customer,

Last night, several of our hosting servers were compromised and a number of customer accounts were deleted. While not all customers are affected, we feel that all customers should be aware of the incident.

The attack happened through a compromised password/computer used by one of the techs to access/support/maintain servers. We’ve disabled access from that computer and account until we can investigate the matter thoroughly.

The servers affected were server names starting with the letters A through D. We’ve posted a notice on our customer forums and will update it with more information:

http://forums.asmallorange.com/index.php?showtopic=12908

If your server isn’t listed, your site wasn’t affected by this.
If you don’t know the server your site is hosted on, you can use our server lookup tool:

http://www.asmallorange.com/extras/server.php

Based on the log data, it does not appear that customer password files were downloaded or accessed, or that any data was transferred. Instead, the attacker simply deleted the customer accounts, and on some servers, critical system files. If you account is on a server that was attacked, we recommend changing your passwords as soon as you have access to your site again.

Our overnight and morning teams have been restoring data, but this is a slow process. For customers affected, please be patient as we work to get through this problem. We understand that many of you host sites for your clients and many of you run your website as a business. Our support team is working as hard as they can to get the data back online as soon as possible.

Once this is behind us, we will be reviewing many of the security systems currently in place and start building improvements. We certainly don’t want an incident like this to happen again. We sincerely regret that this happened, and apologize to all customers who were affected by this.

Thanks for being our customer, and we appreciate your patience as we work to get this resolved.

Email I got from them.

WARNING: During a short period of time during the attack, your site may have been redirected to a malware page promoting a “Web Accelerator” program. This file contains a virus identified as “Backdoor.Win32.VanBot!IK.” Though the exposure time was very short, (less than 30 minutes) there is a possibility that users may have downloaded it. I would suggest informing your users of this and recommend that they run a virus scan and take measures to ensure their system is clean if they happened to download it.

That is on the forum post page, the server my site is on, wasn’t affected.

Oh yeah and by the forum post it says the tech’s computer had a virus, probably the same one. Stupid tech using windows, use linux or something. To improve the security, they could roll their own minimal linux distro, that could be run using virtual box, or vmware player, or parallels, or any other virtual machine program.

Making a full backup of my site so I can download it, cpanel lets you make full backups. Puts everything in a compressed file, so you don’t have to manually download everything.

Already get weekly mysql database backups using Wordpress Database Backup.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • del.icio.us
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Add to favorites
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks

Related posts:

  1. Nintendo DSi in stores now…
  2. Trying Backblaze
  3. Backing up data
  4. Hmm was going to try fedora
  5. Porn is allowed on A Small Orange
Categories: Uncategorized Tags: A Small Orange, ASO, backup, bot, download, DS, ea, forum, hosting, linux, mac, parallels, password, ram, SSI, virtualbox, windows, wordpress, work
Comments are closed.
Got google voice finally! Amazon Kindle only $299
RSS feed

Photos

2010-03-11

What I'm Doing...

  • picasa won't let me upload the .tiff files. can upload those to google docs though. 8 hrs ago
  • that is the first time I actually used automator, opened it before, but never used it... 8 hrs ago
  • http://twitpic.com/18269j 8 hrs ago
  • More updates...

Posting tweet...

Powered by Twitter Tools

Recent Posts

  • Mac OS X Snow Leopard Image Capture
  • Tales Of Monkey Island
  • Carbon Copy Cloner
  • Hostgator CEO bought A Small Orange
  • Got a 15 pound water/fire proof external hard drive

Recent Comments

  • admin on Hmm so MSI Nettop 100 is 64bit capable?
  • Programare Sociala on Hmm so MSI Nettop 100 is 64bit capable?
  • admin on Hmm so MSI Nettop 100 is 64bit capable?
  • Programare Sociala on Hmm so MSI Nettop 100 is 64bit capable?
  • admin on 1Password developers don’t think Firefox is crap

Categories

  • acer aspire one
  • Cloudbook
  • Debian
  • Fedora
  • General
  • gOS
  • KDE
  • linux
  • Multimedia
  • Mythbuntu
  • mythtv
  • Sabayon linux
  • Ubuntu
  • Uncategorized
  • Wireless
  • Yoper
  • Zonbu

Archives

  • 2010
    • January
    • February
    • March
  • 2009
    • January
    • February
    • March
    • April
    • May
    • June
    • July
    • August
    • September
    • October
    • November
    • December
  • 2008
    • January
    • February
    • March
    • April
    • May
    • June
    • July
    • August
    • September
    • October
    • November
    • December
  • 2007
    • January
    • February
    • March
    • April
    • May
    • June
    • July
    • August
    • September
    • October
    • November
    • December
  • 2006
    • July
    • August
    • September
    • October
    • November
    • December

Categories

  • acer aspire one
  • linux
  • Uncategorized

$9.69 Domain name registration at namecheap.com

Meta

  • Log in
  • Entries RSS
  • Comments RSS
  • WordPress.org
Top WordPress
Copyright © 2006-2010 Vanvalkinburgh.org
Theme by NeoEase. Valid XHTML 1.1 and CSS 3.

Bad Behavior has blocked 151 access attempts in the last 7 days.